Dobin Prize in Community-Engaged Independent Work Winners

May 30, 2023

The Program for Community-Engaged Scholarship is proud to award the Dean Hank Dobin Prize in Community-Engaged Independent Work. This award is presented to students whose outstanding thesis best engages a community audience, whether through extensive research, policy recommendations, or new information and analysis.

Congratulations to the 2023 winners!

First Prize: Chloe Fox-Gitomer (Anthropology), Sharps Containers are Red, Tourniquets are Blue: Harm Reduction’s Abridged History and an Ethnography of Contemporary Programs

Second Prize: Gillian Hilscher (Molecular Biology), Gender-Affirming Medical Care: Longitudinal Effects on DNA Methylation and Psychological Well-Being in Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth

Third Prize: Nannette Beckley (School of Public and International Affairs), Community Violence and Postpartum Depression: Associations and Potential Intervention Strategies

Public-facing versions of the winners' research will be available via the ProCES website this summer.