Congratulations to the winners of the Dean Hank Dobin Prize!

Tuesday, Jun 2, 2020

The Program for Community-Engaged Scholarship is proud to award the Dean Hank Dobin Prize in Community-Engaged Independent Work. This award is presented to students whose outstanding thesis best engages a community audience, whether through extensive research, policy recommendations, or new information and analysis. Entries came from nine different departments and programs. Congratulations to the 2020 winners!

First--Rachel Kasdin, Sociology, for "The Crisis of Stigma: Young Adults’ Negotiation of Racism and Homelessness In Trenton’s Health Care System"

Second--Serena Alagappan, Comparative Literature, for "The Space Before Us"

Third--Vayne Ong, History, for "Springwood Avenue Rising: Race, Leisure, and Decline in the 1970 Asbury Park Uprising"