Congratulations to the latest Dobin Prize winners!

June 11, 2021

The Program for Community-Engaged Scholarship is proud to award the Dean Hank Dobin Prize in Community-Engaged Independent Work. This award is presented to students whose outstanding thesis best engages a community audience, whether through extensive research, policy recommendations, or new information and analysis. Entries came from nine different departments and programs. Congratulations to the 2021 winners!

First—Lauren McGrath '21, Anthropology, for "Ethnographic Data Visualization as a Methodology to Visualize the Health Impacts of Structural Violence in Urban Philadelphia Communities"

Second—Jonathan Wang '21, Molecular Biology, for "Examining Low-Barrier Buprenorphine Treatment during COVID-19 for Individuals Experiencing Housing Insecurity and Homelessness"

Third—Katherine Leggat-Barr '21, School for Public and International Affairs, for "Responding from a Fractured Foundation: An Analysis of the COVID-19 Response on the Navajo Nation, to Explain Observed Elevated COVID-19 Mortality Rates"

Their executive summary reports are available on the following page where you can see past Dobin Prize winners’ reports.